Level 3 Foundation Diploma in Information Technology

Level 3 Foundation Diploma in Information Technology

Level 3 Foundation Diploma in Information Technology

The objective of the OTHM Level 3 Foundation Diploma in Information Technology is to equip learners with the skills and knowledge required to work in the IT sector or progress to further study.

The qualification is designed to ensure that each learner has an opportunity to build sector knowledge and learn current skills and practices in computer systems, networks, coding, website development, mobile communications, cyber security and social media for business.


Accreditation and Equivalences

Level 3 Foundation Diploma in Information Technology is an international recognised qualification regulated by Ofqual (The Office of the Qualifications and Examination Regulator) at UK Regulated Qualification Framework (RQF) (England) - Level 3 and European Qualification Framework Level 4.

The Qualification Accreditation Number is 603/7029/4 and it is awarded by OTHM Qualifications Awarding Qualifications.

RQF Level 3 represents practical knowledge, skills, capabilities and competences that are assessed in academic terms as being equivalent to GCE AS/A Levels.


What will you study?

You will study six units of 60 credits. 

  • Computer Systems (10 credits)
  • Coding and Website Development (10 credits)
  • Networks (10 credits)
  • Mobile Communications (10 credits)
  • Cyber Security (10 credits)
  • Social Media for Business (10 credits)


Assessment Method

The assessment method of this course is assignment only. You will write total six assignments to pass six units.


How will you study?

Our learning portal will be available to you study 24/7. You can use your Desktop Computer, Laptop, Mobile or Tablet anytime in a flexible way to study entirely online. After login into your online learning portal, you will study in a structured way - read books/resources online and write your assignments with full study support to complete the qualification.


Results and Certificate

Learners must pass all six units to achieve the qualification. Once you pass six units, the awarding body will issue certificate and transcript subject to their quality assurance checks. 


Entry Requirements

You must have RQF Level 2 or an equivalent level qualification to study this course. 


Career Paths

The programme's rationale is to provide a career path for learners who wish to develop their Information Technology and Computing skills. After this course, you will progress to study UK BSc (Hons) Information Technology, Computer Science or an equivalent level/subject qualification. Learners can also have an option to continue their study for our Level 4 Diploma in Information Technology.   


  1. Study Planner - Information Technology (6 Months)

  2. Unit 01 - Computer Systems

    The aim of this unit is to introduce learners to the basic hardware and software components that make up computer systems and for learners to carry out basic installation and configuration. This unit is designed to assist learners to understand the basic components of computer systems and how they are adapted to individual needs.
  3. Unit 02 - Coding and Website Development

    The aim of this unit is to enable learners to understand the fundamental processes involved in developing simple programmes and applications, as well as details of basic website design.
  4. Unit 03 - Networks

    The aim of this unit is to enable learners to understand the importance of networks to computer systems and their essential use in a variety of application. Learners will also gain knowledge about network technologies and the delivery of a wide range of networked services.
  5. Unit 04 - Mobile Communications

    The aim of this unit is to explain the growth of mobile communication and how it has changed everyday life and to provide learners with an understanding of the functionality that underpins key business and e-commerce uses.
  6. Unit 05 - Cyber Security

    The aim of this unit is to enable learners to understand about cyber security and the consequences and implications of inadequate cyber security. They will understand key terminology and the motivations of good and bad actors. They will also investigate the advantages and disadvantages of security by design.
  7. Unit 06 - Social Media for Business

    The aim of this unit is to allow learners to explore how businesses use social media to promote their products and services. Learners will also create a social media policy and plan to meet business requirements.

No Comments

Give a comment